That place of radical transformation.

Coco Densmore
3 min readNov 12, 2023
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

“There is something in every one of you that waits and listens for the sound of the genuine in yourself. It is the only true guide you will ever have. And if you cannot hear it, you will all of your life spend your days on the ends of strings that somebody else pulls.”

-Howard Thurman

I’ve made the decision to leave my role as my mother’s caregiver and move on with my life. The decision was long in coming, but once I committed to going out on my own, it all began to come together. My resolve to regain my independence is unwavering.

My brother manages my mother’s finances and her care, so in a sense, I’ve worked for him this last 4 ½ years. Our relationship has always been contentious. I strive inwardly not to hate him, but my resentment towards him is so big that it hinders my personal and spiritual growth. It’s been especially important for me not to react to his verbal condemnations, because when I do, I always pay a very significant price. And I’ve really let loose upon occasion. I am the first to acknowledge I have most certainly contributed to the massive rift that lies between us. But in this caregiver role, I’ve learned it’s a matter of self-preservation not to spit back the words of anger and hate always right there, just there under the surface, waiting to spew forth. The price I pay from his retaliation is simply too…

--

--

Coco Densmore

Coco Densmore writes about Embracing Her Single, being HSV-2+, living with bipolar mental illness, and overcoming childhood sexual abuse. www.cocodensmore.com.